Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

59 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Recognition

59 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Recognition

Boston, Mass. – November 9, 2017 - Earlier this week, The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2017 Academic All-Conference Teams, with 57 student-athletes from Springfield College participating in fall sports earning recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Springfield's 59 student-athletes that earned Academic All-Conference honors ranks second in the NEWMAC, following only MIT, which had 94 student-athletes honored. The Springfield College football program registered a school-best 15 student-athletes on the Academic All-Conference team. The field hockey team's 10 student-athletes that were recognized tied for second in NEWMAC field hockey, as MIT also had 10 student-athletes recognized.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Women's Cross Country
Tori Nascambeni
Abbie McCann
Laura Volan
Macayla LaChance
Nicole Dyer
Kristen Madeia
Julia Maturo

Men's Cross Country
Tyler Cronin
Christopher Tringali
Richard Linley

Field Hockey
Dani Sweet
Paige Laperle
Ann Mahoney
Emmalie Drake
Allie Skinner
Taylor Field
Hannah Boylan
Belle Copponi
Taylor Conley
Gabby Guerard

Women's Volleyball
Kayleigh Helgesen
Rebecca Higgins
Laura Townsend

Men's Soccer
Brendan Claflin
Ian Zacharewicz
Nick Fontana
Keon Haji
Christian Steidle
Jimmy Wilcox
Brad Deckel
Mitchell Ambruso
Tim Wood

Women's Soccer
Olivia Bernas
Gabrielle Fernandes
Meghan Sastram
Jackie Davis
Dakota Kelly
Rachel Feliu
Izzy Inglese
Mikaela Coady
Monique Marcelino
Renee Melisse
Mackenzie Luiz
Kellie Gambell

Christian Humulock
Jonathan Weaver
Chad Shade
Nick Bainter
Skyler Bateman
Jordan Wilcox
Sam Greenfield
Tom Casey
Dominic Traversa
Tony Valentino
Christopher Hayden
John Cox
Zach Wright
Joseph Salatel
Andrew Papirio