55 Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC All-Academic Honors

55 Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC All-Academic Honors

Boston, Mass. - November 4, 2014 - Earlier this week, The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2014 Academic All-Conference Teams, with 55 student-athletes from Springfield College participating in fall sports earning recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Honorees must have earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2014 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

In both women's tennis and women's cross country, Springfield was tied with MIT for first in the amount of student-athletes that earned All-Academic recognition. In comparison with the fall of 2013, Springfield had 14 more student-athletes recognized this past fall, as there were only 41 just one year ago.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

Men’s Cross Country

Austin Ramos

Jacob Simons

Scott Bushey

Michael Sherry


Women’s Cross Country

Mary Casey

Megan Stoddard

Emily Rund

Sarah Skillin

Elizabeth Footit

Katherine Saia

Rachel Breen

Elizabeth Tomanio

J'aime Giaccone

Morgan Mrak

Michelle Morgan

Men’s Soccer

Evan Cheman

A.J. Vico

Brian Betz

Drew Sommer

Women’s Soccer

Amanda Calzolano

Brooke Fairman

Krissy Cicalis

Jessica Miller

Elizabeth Monsen

Brianna Messier

Brooke Hattinger

Kelly Haines

Shannon Wells

Sara Carpentieri

Lucy Gillett

Nicole Fowler

Field Hockey

Jill MacDonald

Libby Hart

Mikayla Wysocki

Tori Stollmer

Jamie Raccosta

Tina DeGirolamo

Sarah Ducharme

Linnea Quist

Women’s Volleyball

Marnae Mawdsley

Lauren Holt

Amy Entel

Amanda Palladino

Molly Giannattasio

Kerry Purcell

Jamie Schneck

Jennifer Hurwitz

Women's Tennis

Alanna Grady
Stephani Post
Stephanie Foster
Arianna Shemms
Melanie Thulin
Julia Goyette
Kelsey Whelpley
Rachel London