50 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

50 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Boston, Mass. – November 6, 2015 - Earlier this week, The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2015 Academic All-Conference Teams, with 50 student-athletes from Springfield College participating in fall sports earning recognition for their efforts in the classroom.

Springfield's 50 student-athletes that earned Academic All-Conference honors ranks second in the NEWMAC, following only MIT, which had 61 student-athletes honored. The Springfield College women's soccer program registered a Springfield-best 14 student-athletes on the Academic All-Conference team. Additionally, the women's volleyball program's eight student-athletes that received recognition, was the most volleyball student-athletes within the conference, edging MIT, which had six.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2015 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Women's Tennis
Stephanie Foster
Rachel Litchfield
Rachel London
Stephani Post
Ariana Shemms
Melanie Thulin
Kelsey Whelpley

Women's Cross Country
Rachel Breen
Mary Casey
Elizabeth Footit
Julia Maturo
Michelle Morgan
Sarah Skillin
Megan Stoddard

Men's Cross Country
Ben Malin
Austin Ramos
Jacob Simons

Field Hockey
Libby Hart
Kristina Krull
Jillian MacDonald
Ann Mahoney
Jamie Raccosta
Dani Sweet
Mikayla Wysocki

Women's Volleyball
Hannah Andres
Molly Giannattasio
Rebecca Higgins
Lauren Holt
Jennifer Hurwitz
Marnae Mawdsley
Kerry Purcell
Jamie Schneck

Men's Soccer
Taylor Gilfoy
Zach Richard
Billy Schmid
Tim Wood

Women's Soccer
Ciara Boucher
Jenacee Bradbury
Amanda Calzolano
Krissy Cicalis
Mikaela Coady
Aubrey Coutu
Brooke Fairman
Nicole Fowler
Brooke Hattinger
Dakota Kelly
Monique Marcelino
Bri Messier
Jess Miller
Elizabeth Monsen