Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wilcox Garners Second National Team of the Week Recognition

Wilcox Garners Second National Team of the Week Recognition

Springfield, Mass. - November 14, 2017 - For the second time this season, Springfield College's Jordan Wilcox (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) was named to the National Team of the Week after an impressive performance last Saturday to lead the Pride to the inaugural New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship. 

Dating back to 1999, the honor roll recognizes the top individual performance at each position, drawn from nominations provided by schools.  This is the third national honor of the year for Springfield, as Wilcox recognized on September 13 and the offensive line of Tim Christensen (Attleboro, Mass.), Brennan Fleming (Mechanicville, N.Y.), Nick Bainter (East Bridgewater, Mass.), Jeremy Lipsky (Glen Rock, N.J.), and Christopher Hayden (Madison, Maine) was honored on October 25.   With the honor, Wilcox became just the third player in program history to earn the national honor more than once in a season, joining Jason Miller from 2000 and Chris Sharpe from 2006.

Wilcox put together an incredible performance in Springfield's 43-7 win over MIT as he churned up 221 yards on 18 carries, averaging 12.3 yards per carry. He found the end zone three times, scoring touchdowns from 62 yards, 44 yards, and 39 yards and was a key part of the Pride's 390 rushing yards which helped the team set a program record for most rushing yards in a season, upping its season total to 4,523 and besting the previous mark of 4,496 set in 2006.  To date, Wilcox leads the nation in yards per rush (8.13), is for fourth in the nation in total rushing yards (1,675), and seventh in rushing touchdowns (19).  Thanks to his efforts, Springfield owns a 10-0 record, marking just the third time in program history that the program has had an unblemished regular-season record.

The Pride will return to action on November 18 when it hosts Husson University in the NCAA Division III Football Championship First Round at 12 pm on Stagg Field.