Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seven Football Student-Athletes Named To NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Seven Football Student-Athletes Named To NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Irving, Texas - May 16, 2018 - The Springfield College football team had seven student-athletes who were selected as members of the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

An all-time high 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 schools qualified for membership in the society's 12th year. 

"We are pleased to see another record number of athletes honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Over the past decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 778 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.  

Springfield's honorees met the requirements of having completed their final year of eligibility, achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study, and been a starter of significant contributor on the field in 2017.  Springfield's honorees included Christopher Hayden (Madison, Maine), Tyler Hyde (Plantsville, Conn.), Luke Jimenez (Waldwick, N.J.), Dominic Traversa (Pittsfield, Mass.), Jon Weaver (Cromwell, Conn.), Jordan Wilcox (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.), and Christian Zotti (Newington, Conn.).

It was a historical 2017 season for the Springfield College football program as the Pride produced an undefeated regular season with a 10-0 record en route to winning the inaugural New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship.  The Pride returned to the national tournament for the first time since 2006 and finished the year with a number of single-season program records, including team rushing yards (4,787), team total offense (5,170), total points (480), and total points allowed (132).  Additionally, the Pride produced the most rushing yards in all of college football and ranked seventh in Division III in scoring with 43.9 points per game.