Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Giorgio Awarded With Associated Press First Team All-America Honors

Giorgio Awarded With Associated Press First Team All-America Honors

Springfield, Mass. - December 14, 2018 - Springfield College's Nick Giorgio (Cumberland, R.I.) continued to garner national postseason recognition as he was chosen to the Associated Press (AP) Division III All-America football team following a sensational senior season.

The defensive end was named to The Associated Press All-America First Team and becomes just the third Springfield College football player to ever earn the AP All-America honor, joining Max Nacewicz, who garnered the honor in 2015, and Jordan Wilcox, who was chosen in 2017.  The AP Division III All-America First and Second Teams were chosen by a panel of sports information directors from NCAA Division III institutions around the nation.  The Business Management previously was named to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Division III Coaches' All-America First Team.

Following a special senior season, Giorgio cemented himself as one of the dynamic defensive players to ever wear a Springfield College football jersey.  One of 13 semifinalists for the Gagliardi National Player of the Year Trophy, Giorgio has received a number of postseason honors this season, including the Gridrion Club of Greater Boston's Division II/III New England Defensive Player of the Year and the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Defensive Athlete of the Year.  He totaled 82 tackles, including 29 tackles-for-loss and 14 sacks, to go along with four forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, and two blocked kicks.  He ranks second among all active college football players for career tackles-for-loss per game (1.91), is the Division III active leader for career forced fumbles (9), while his 82 tackles was the third most for a defensive end in Division III football this year. 

Thanks to his play, Springfield went 8-3 this year and captured the New England Bowl Championship, marking the second-straight season in which the Pride played in the postseason.