Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rogers Named 2008 Dita/NFHCA New England East Region Coach of the Year

Springfield, Mass. – December 10, 2008 – After leading the Springfield College field hockey team to its fifth-straight New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title, Melissa Rogers was honored as the 2008 Dita/NFHCA New England East Region Coach of the Year.

In her fifth year at the helm of the Pride, Rogers has been tremendous in guiding the Pride to the NCAA Tournament the past five seasons.

Rogers has continued the SC tradition of winning on the field hockey turf, posting an impressive 94-24 record, good for a winning percentage of .796 in her career. This season, the Pride advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament before falling at Tufts. Under Rogers watch, the Pride had the first player in conference history to win back-to-back NEWMAC Field Hockey Player of the Year honors since 1991.

This season, Rogers was also chosen as the NEWMAC Coach of the Year as well. She previously won the award her first year as head coach in 2004.