Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Basketball Earns NABC Team Academic Excellence Honor; Four Earn Individual Recognition

Men's Basketball Earns NABC Team Academic Excellence Honor; Four Earn Individual Recognition

Kansas City, Mo. - July 18, 2018 - The Springfield College men's basketball team was recognized with the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Team Academic Excellence Award, created by the NABC Committee on Academics. This award recognizes outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the 2017-18 season. 

In order to earn a NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, an institution must count the grade point averages of all men's basketball student-athletes competing during the 2017-18 season in NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA.  Last season, the 12 members of Springfield's men's basketball program combined to achieve a 3.23 grade point average.  Additionally, four of those student-athletes were selected to the NABC Honors Court, which recognizes those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics. In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must academically be a junior or a season, own a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2017-18 academic year, and matriculated at least one year at their current NCAA Division I,II,II or NAIA institution

Springfield College's honorees included a pair of students who graduated with degrees in Communication/Sports Journalism in May, Ben Diamond (New York, N.Y.) and Brandon Eckles (East Greenwich, R.I.), while rising seniors Kevin Durkin (Worcester, Mass./Sport Management) and Cam Earle (South Hadley, Mass./Computer and Information Sciences) were also recognized.

Last season, Springfield College advanced to its first-ever trip to the NCAA Division III Championship Final Four following a remarkable postseason run and finished the year ranked No. 4 in the country in the National Poll.  The Pride was one of only two teams that played in the Final Four last season to also earn the NABC Team Academic Excellence Award.