Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Swimming and Diving Finishes Third at NEWMAC Championships

Norton, Mass. – February 28, 2010 – The Springfield College men’s swimming and diving team finished third at the 2010 New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Swimming and Diving Championships. Brian Sobel finished up his tremendous weekend as he won the three-meter diving competition on Sunday evening for the Pride.

MIT successfully defended its NEWMAC Championship crown as the three-day meet at Wheaton College’s Balfour Natatorium came to an end Sunday night. The Engineers, whose five league titles are one shy of the United States Coast Guard Academy’s NEWMAC record, finished with 1,027 points. Coast Guard came in second with 947.5 points, while Springfield College rounded out the top three with 673.5.

Sobel swept the diving competition for the second straight year as he repeated as the NEWMAC Diver of the Year. On Sunday night, he won the three-meter with a mark of 512.25, while on Saturday evening, Sobel took home the one-meter crown with a school-record score of 542.05. Teammate Matt Fitzgerald finished in third with a 474.20 and Kenny Pancoast took fourth with a 446.45.

In the 1,650 freestyle, Tim Ramos finished fifth with a time of 16:38.04, while Andrew Blakesley placed second in the 100 free with a NCAA provisional time of 46.25.

Springfield had a pair of finishers in the top six of the 200 breast with Ryan Mackstutis finishing fourth in 2:08.90 and Brian Way placing sixth in 2:10.27.

SC closed out the meet with the 400 free relay taking third as Blakesley, Matt Manoni, Scott Mackstutis, and Ryan Mackstutis touching in 3:08.56.

Team Standings
1. MIT 1,027 points
2. Coast Guard Academy 947.5 points
3. Springfield College 673.5 points
4. Wheaton College 312 points
5. WPI 292 points
6. Clark University 272 points
7. Babson College 260 points