Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Avdoulos Headlines NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Honors With Coach of the Year Recognition

Avdoulos Headlines NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Honors With Coach of the Year Recognition

Springfield, Mass. - February 28, 2018 - Springfield College's Pete Avdoulos headlined the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving yearly accolades as he was named the men's diving coach of the year.

Avdolous was named the NEWMAC Men's Diving Coach of the Year for the 13th time in his career as he helped lead a men's diving group to impressive levels.   First-year Connor Pennington (Monson, Mass.) finished second in both diving events en route to a pair of NEWMAC  Second Team All-Conference honors. Pennington, along with teammate Valmore Stewart (Windsor, Conn.), have each qualified for the NCAA Division III Regional Diving Championships, which will be held at Middlebury this weekend.  This is the first coach of the year honor for Avdolous since 2015.

On the women's side, Springfield had a pair of student-athletes earn individual all-conference honors in Christine Shea (Peabody, Mass.) and Delaney Dyjak (Ludlow, Mass.).  Dyjak placed second in both the 50 free (23.78) and 100 fly (55.96), while Shea produced a 2:20.86 in the 200 breast as they each garnered second-team all-conference accolades.  Also, Springfield's 200 free relay team of Dyjak, Brianna Magee (Hauppauge, N.Y.), Amelia McKenzie (Charlton, Mass.), and Olivia Paione (Auburn, Maine) combined to swim a 1:36.91, also earning second-team all-conference honors.

Additionally, Springfield's Sam Fox (Warwick, R.I.) and Bri Boulerice (New Ipswich, N.H.) were named to the NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship Team. The award is intended to recognize one student-athlete from each team, in every sport that best demonstrates the ideals of the NEWMAC and its Code of Conduct.