Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Jasuta Earns Prestigious NCAA Elite 90 Award for Men's Volleyball

Jasuta Earns Prestigious NCAA Elite 90 Award for Men's Volleyball

Springfield, Mass. - April 27, 2017 - Kyle Jasuta (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) a sophomore at Springfield College, is the recipient of the Elite 90 award for the 2017 NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship.

Jasuta, an Accounting & Finance major, currently carries a 3.961 GPA and was presented with the award during the NCAA Volleyball Championship Banquet on Thursday evening. Jasuta previously earned AVCA Second-Team All-America Honors earlier this week, following a sophomore campaign in which he hit .536 out of the middle while totaling 114 kills. Jasuta also posted 51 blocks and keyed a Pride defense that leads the country in opponent's hitting percentage (.110). He is now the eighth middle to have played at Springfield and be tabbed AVCA All-America. 

The Elite 90, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's championships.

This marks the fourth time that a Springfield College student-athlete has ever garnered the prestigious academic accolade. Tim Vollaro was the recipient at the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship, while Tessa Smolinski earned the award in 2011 when she helped lead the women's volleyball program to the Elite 8 in St. Louis. Most recently, Jon Zirna was the recipient at the 2015 NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championship.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

For more information on the Elite 90 award winners, log on to