Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad Recognition

Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad Recognition

Springfield, Mass. - July 23, 2018 - Being honored for its continued excellence both on the field and in the classroom, the Springfield College women's lacrosse team has earned Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad recognition, announced on Monday afternoon.

Additionally, nine members of the 2018 team have been recognized individually, as Amanda Picozzi (Wyoming, R.I.), Amanda Nusbaum (Conway, N.H.), Kristen Steidler (Somers, Conn.), Andie Stone (Burlington, Conn.), Taylor Kane (Woburn, Mass.), Katie Stallone (Seaford, N.Y.), Ann Mahoney (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.), Lilly Barraclough (Dover, N.H.) and Julia Bireley (Franklin, Mass.) all landed on the 2018 Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll.

In order for a team to qualify for the IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad recognition, it must have a cumulative team grade-point average of 3.0. To be recognized individually, student-athletes must be a junior, senior or graduate student and have a GPA of 3.50 or better.

The Pride was one of 339 institutions across Division I, II, III and the NAIA to receive the honor, and one of just 165 schools in Division III. Of college's competing in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC), Springfield College had the most student-athletes recognized, as MIT and the Pride both had nine.

It was another impressive season for the Pride in 2018, which earned its first-ever at large bid into the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament, before advancing to the second round following a 24-3 win over Elms College in the First Round. Of the Pride's nine student-athletes to land a spot on the Division III Academic Honor Roll, four of them earned All-Conference honors, including Mahoney, Stone, Nusbaum and Bireley.