Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wrestling Captures City of Springfield Championship

Wrestling Captures City of Springfield Championship

Springfield, Mass. - November 10, 2018 - The Springfield College wrestling team captured the 2018 City of Springfield Championship on Saturday as it bested local-foes Western New England, American International College, and Springfield Technical CC in the Field House on the campus of Springfield College.

The Pride got off to a hot start on the day with a 45-8 win over AIC before Springfield edged out WNE 24-18.  In their final match of the day, Springfield sealed the championship with a 45-6 triumph over STCC. 

In the win over AIC, Springfield gained a lead which they would never relinquish after Chris Trelli (Bristol, Conn.) took just 0:50 to pin his opponent at 125.  After a forfeit at 133, Ryan Peters (Wells, Maine) delivered a pin at 141 in 3:34 to extend the lead to 18-0. Following a setback at 149, Springfield would go on to win the next six bouts, highlighted by a Ryan Harty (Plymouth, Mass.) pin at 165. Nicholas Almonte (Cranston, R.I.) would help seal the win with a 7-0 decision at 174. 

Springfield trailed early against WNE after a pin at 125 but three decisions in a row by Ian Tolotti (Dumont, N.J.), Peters, and Michael Vietri (Dumont, N.J.) would allow Springfield back into the match, giving them a 9-6 lead. A loss at 157 was followed by a pin by Harty  at 165 and decision by Aarin Feliz (Lake Hawatha, N.J.)  at 174, which made it a 18-9 contest.  However, the Golden Bears won by decision at 184 and delivered a pin at 197 to tie things up going into the 285 bout. Joseph Fusco (Billerica, Mass.) came up in the clutch as he pinned his opponent just 2:07 in to the match to seal a 24-17 Springfield victory.

In their final match of the day against STCC, the Pride cruised to victory, losing just one bout in the match en route to a 45-6 victory. Highlighting the dual was Trelli, Nick Monteleone (Hackensack, N.J.), and Jacques St. Jean (Goffstown, N.H.) who each won by pinfall and Kearney Gutierrez (Freeport, N.Y.) and Bryce Finnegan (Northborough, Mass.) who were victorious by technical fall and major decision, respectively.

Next up, Springfield will host the Doug Parker Invitational on Saturday, November 17 at 10:00 AM in the Springfield College Field House.

Springfield College 45, American International College 8

125 Chris Trelli (SPR) by PIN (:50) over Ahmed Hernandez (AIC) 6-0 SPR

133 Ian Tolotti (SPR) by FORFEIT 12-0 SPR

141 Ryan Peters (SPR) by PIN (3:34) over Joel Morth (AIC) 18-0 SC

149  JoJo Gonzalez MAJOR DEC.(12-3) over Mike Vietri (SPR) 18-4 SPR

157 Kearney Gutierrez (SPR) by FORFEIT 24-4 SPR

165 Ryan Harty (SPR) by PIN (1:36) over Rafiq Conway 30-4 SPR

174 Nick Almonte (SPR) by DEC. (7-0) over Isaiah Collins (AIC) 33-4 SPR

184 Ryan Errico (SPR) by FORFEIT  39-4 SPR

197  Samie Al-Ziab (SPR) by FORFEIT 45-4 SPR

285  Raul Martinez (AIC) by MAJOR DEC. (12-1) over Tyson Jones (SPR)  45-8 SPR


Springfield College 24, Western New England University 17

125  Nick Arborio (WNE) by PIN (4:29) over   Nicholas Derosa (SPR) 6-0 WNE

133 Ian Tolotti (SPR)  by DEC. (6-0) over Austin Roche (WNE) 6-3 WNE

141 Ryan Peters (SPR) by DEC. (3-0) over Justin DeLucia (WNE) 6-6

149 Mike Vietri (SPR) by DEC. (6-4) over Andrew Piedrahita (WNE) 9-6 SPR

157 Ryan Montiero (WNE) by DEC. (2-1) over  Kearney Gutierrez (SPR) 9-9 

165 Ryan Harty (SPR) by PIN. (:50) over Jeffrey Suschana (WNE) 15-9 SPR

174 Aarin Feliz (SPR) by DEC. (12-6) over David Goodall (WNE) 18-9 SPR

184  Ryan Guers (WNE) by DEC. (13-7) over Nicholas Almonte (SPR) 18-12 SPR

197 John Boyle (WNE) by PIN (1:51) over Samie Al-Ziab (SPR) 18-18 SPR

285 Joe Fusco (SPR) by PIN (2:07) over Asim Waters (WNE) 24-18 SPR

Springfield Misconduct - One-Point deduction- WNE 24-17 SPR


Springfield College 45, Springfield Technical Community College 6

125 Chris Trelli (SPR) by PIN (3:53) over Victor Lopez (STCC) 6-0 SPR

133 Jacques St. Jean (SPR) by PIN (4:48) over David Ortiz (STCC) 12-0 SPR

141 Bryce Finnegan (SPR) by MAJOR DEC. (11-1) over Marcos Mercado (STCC) 16-0 SPR

149  Nick Monteleone (SPR) PIN.(1:33) over Michael Clark (STCC) 22-0 SPR

157 Kearney Gutierrez (SPR) by TECH FALL (18-1) over Ryan Williams(STCC) 27-0 SPR

165 Ryan Harty (SPR) by FORFEIT 33-0 SPR

174  Jacob Berry (STCC) by DEC. over Arrin Feliz (SPR) (7-5)  33-3 SPR

184 Ryan Errico (SPR) by FORFEIT  39-3 SPR

197  Samie Al-Ziab (SPR) by FORFEIT 45-3 SPR

285  Chaas St. Phard (STCC) by DEC. (8-3) over Tyson Jones (SPR)  45-6 SPR