Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 13 Roger Williams Rallies Past Wrestling, 20-14

No. 13 Roger Williams Rallies Past Wrestling, 20-14

Springfield, Mass. - December 7, 2018 - The Springfield College wrestling team was bested by No. 13 Roger Williams, 20-14, as part of the Pride's annual "Friday Night Lights" event in Blake Arena.

Roger Williams, which was ranked 13th in the latest NWCA Division III National Poll, rallied to the victory as they won the final four bouts of the match.

Tonight's match started at 197 pounds and the visitors earned a 2-1 win as Anthony Malfitano benefitted from riding time to give the Hawks a 3-0 advantage.  Springfield rebounded with a first-period pin by Joseph Fusco (Billerica, Mass.), but the Pride was deducted a point for misconduct as it took a 5-3 lead.  After Roger Williams earned a decision win at 125 by Kyle Kaiser, Springfield's Ian Tolotti (Dumont, N.J.) cruised to a 5-1 win at 133 to put Springfield back on top, 8-6.   Springfield added to its lead with another decision victory, this time by Michael Vietri (Dumont, N.J.) by a score of 4-0 at 141, and then benefitted from a tremendous effort by Ryan Peters (Wells, Maine) at 149 to take a 14-6 lead.  Peters, who went down 8-1 in the first period, put together an outstanding second period to tie his bout up at 11, before getting a late takedown for the 15-13 win.

However, Roger Williams responded with a 6-0 decision by Tyler Gazaway at 157 and an 18-3 technical fall from Taylor Shay at 165 to even the match at 14-all.  The Hawks regained a 17-14 lead after Brett Leonard pulled off a 9-4 win at 174, setting up a winner-take-all bout at 184. Despite a valiant effort from Seve Burgos (Guilford, Conn.) late in the third, Roger Williams sealed the 20-14 win as Ryan DeLoach held on for a 7-5 decision.  

Springfield will next compete in the Williams Open, which will take place on January 5, 2019. 


Roger Williams 20, Springfield 14
197:  Anthony Malfitano (RWU) wins by decision over George Tarwo (SPR), 2-1 (0-3)
285:  Joseph Fusco (SPR) pinned Adam Patsun (RWU) - One-point deduction for Springfield (5-3) 
125:  Kyle Kaiser (RWU) wins by decision over Nicholas DeRosa (SPR), 3-0 (5-6)
133: Ian Tolotti (SPR) wins by decision over John Mejia (RWU), 5-1 (8-6)
141:  Michael Vietri (SPR) wins by decision over Seth Frohnheiser (RWU), 4-0 (11-6) 
149:  Ryan Peters (SPR) wins by decision over Jack Kelly (RWU), 15-13 (14-6)
157:  Tyler Gazaway (RWU) wins by decision over Kearney Gutierrez (SPR), 6-0 (14-9)
165:  Taylor Shay (RWU) wins by technical fall over Nick Monteleone (SPR), 18-3 (14-14)
174: Brett Leonard (RWU) wins by decision over Aarin Feliz (SPR), 9-4 (14-17) 
184: Ryan DeLoach (RWU) wins by decision over Seve Burgos (SPR), 7-5 (14-20)