Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fast Start Allows Wesleyan To Edge Wrestling, 23-15

Fast Start Allows Wesleyan To Edge Wrestling, 23-15

Springfield, Mass. - January 26, 2019 - In a match that featured four bouts that were decided in overtime, the Springfield College wrestling team was defeated by Wesleyan, 23-15, on Saturday night under a spotlight in Blake Arena. 

Wesleyan earned a sudden-victory decision at 125 and benefitted from riding team at 133 for another decision to open up a 6-0 advantage over the Pride through the first two bouts.  Springfield got on the board at 141 with a sudden-victory decision of their own when Ryan Peters (Wells, Maine) prevailed over James Matias by a score of 6-5 to pull the Pride within 6-3.  

Wesleyan earned another overtime win at 149, used a decision at 157, and a pinfall at 165 to expand their cushion to 18-3.  Aarin Feliz (Lake Hawatha, N.J.) showed plenty of resolve at 174 for Springfield when he toughed out an 8-6 sudden-victory decision against Marco Gaita before classmate Seve Burgos (Guilford, Conn.) battled his way to a 9-7 win at 184 over Duncan Kreutter.  However, Wesleyan sealed the dual-meet win with a technical fall at 197, and despite the team result already decided, Joseph Fusco (Billerica, Mass.) made quick work of Harrison Karp as he produced a pinfall in just 56 seconds.

Springfield will hit the mats again on Sunday when it travels to compete in the Wildcat Open.


 Wesleyan 23, Springfield 15

125: Zack Murillo (WES) defeats Nicholas DeRosa (SPR) by sudden-victory decision, 3-1 (0-3)
133: Tristan Stetson (WES) defeats Ian Tolotti (SPR) by decision, 4-3 (0-6)
141: Ryan Peters (SPR) defeats James Matias (WES) by sudden-victory decision, 6-5 (3-6)
149: Shane Ross (WES) defeats Kearney Gutierrez (SPR) by sudden-victory decision, 9-7 (3-9)
157: Aaron Goldman (WES) defeats Nick Monteleone (SPR), 8-4 (3-12)
165: Roy Forys (WES) pins Derek Wilson (SPR) in 2:16 (3-18)
174: Aarin Feliz (SPR) defeats Marco Gaita (WES) defeats by sudden-victory decision, 8-6 (6-18)
184: Seve Burgos (SPR) defeats Duncan Kreutter (NOR) by decision, 9-7 (9-18)
197: Simon Chee (WES) defeats Ryan Gray (SPR) by technical fall, 18-0, 4:31 (9-23)
285: Joseph Fusco (SPR) pins Harrison Karp (WES) in 0:56 (15-23)