Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Avdoulos and Lewis Highlight NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Post-Season Awards

Avdoulos and Lewis Highlight NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Post-Season Awards

Boston, Mass. - February 25, 2015 - The Springfield College men's and women's swimming and diving programs were well represented at the NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships this past weekend, as the Pride continued its excellence and was recognized in the post-season awards.

For the fourth-straight season, Springfield College diving coach Pete Avdoulos was named both the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year.

This marks the sixth-time since 2003 that Avdoulos has swept the NEWMAC Diving Coach of the Year honors. On the men's side, Avdoulos has been named NEWMAC Coach of the Year 12 of the last 13 seasons, including the last eight years. For the women, he has been chosen as the top coach seven times in the last 13 seasons.

Springfield's senior diver Jack Lewis (Durham, N.H.) repeated as the NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Year, marking the 12th  time in the past 13 years that a Springfield diver has won the award.  By repeating as the conference's top male diver, Lewis is the fourth Springfield diver to earn the award multiple years, joining Kenny Pancoast, Brian Sobel, and Mike Shaw. The Recreation Management major also swept the 1-meter and 3-meter diving competitions for the second-straight season.

The Pride captured three out of eight diving all-conference accolades as junior diver Melanie Avdoulos (East Longmeadow, Mass.) registered a second-place finish on the 1-meter board, earning all-conferenc honors.

In his 29th season season at Springfield, Avdoulos coached a Springfield diving team that put on a dominant performance at last weekend's NEWMAC Championship. Lewis became the seventh-straight Springfield male diver to earn NEWMAC Men's Diver of the Year.

The Springfield men's and women's swimming teams were also well-represented on the NEWMAC All-Conference list, as Springfield had 10 All-Conference performances over the course of the four-day meet.

Standout junior Michale Normoyle (Wilbraham, Mass.) won conference titles in both the 100 and 200 breast, while also finishing second in the 200 individual medley, earning three all-conference honors. On the women's side, the 400 medley relay team of Callie Phillips (East Longmeadow, Mass.), Emily Medeiros (Wakefield, Mass.), Christiana Greco (Wilbraham, Mass.) and Delaney Dyjak (Ludlow, Mass.) finished second overall in the event, before Greco won a conference title in the 100 butterfly and Medeiros swept the 100 and 200 breast.